ANGLO: The Cold Chambers
Shortly before 1924, the Liebig's Company planned to close down its industrial activities in Uruguay. Disconnected with the idea of introducing the refrigeration industry within its activities, there was an external stakeholder in doing so: the Weddel Co. of England, owned by the powerful Vestey family.
After a crude period with minimal activity in Fray Bentos, La LEMCO agreed with the British industrialists to build on its land, a large cold room and some other facilities that would convert everything into a refrigerator.
The Cold Chambers began to be built in 1921 and finished a little more than two years later. They had an enormous capacity, not only to contain meat for export, but also meat waiting to be processed, poultry and swine meat and other foods such as eggs and legumes.
Along with the cold chambers, an adjoining room had to be built to deal with the generation of cold by means of ammonia pressurization. to what was called "Engine Room".
From the river, a link between the factory and the exterior, the huge five-storey building turned out to be an indelible and almost iconic image for industry in the region.
A few steps, as there was no other establishment in Uruguay, the port of great depth, allowed to receive the cargoes taking advantage of the gentle slope that by gravity, favored the transport of the cargo to the boats.